Anne-Francois-Louis Janmot Paintings

See Anne-Francois-Louis Janmot Paintings.

Anne-François-Louis Janmot (May 21, 1814–June 1, 1892) was a French painter and poet.

Janmot was born in Lyon and studied art at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Lyon, beginning in 1831. In 1833 he went to Paris. There, and later in Rome, he studied under Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres.

Like Jean-Hippolyte Flandrin, another painter from Lyon and student of Ingres, Janmot carried out many commissions for church decorations. In his paintings the immaculate finish of Ingres was combined with a mysticism that has parallels in the work of his contemporaries the Nazarenes and the Pre-Raphaelites. His most significant work, a cycle of 18 paintings and 16 drawings, with verse, called La Poème de l'âme, occupied him for 40 years.

Janmot has been seen as a transitional figure between Romanticism and Symbolism; his work was admired by Puvis de Chavannes, Odilon Redon, and Maurice Denis.
Below are some of his works we offer.
L'assomption de la Vierge
Le Poeme de l'ame
- Cauchemar
- L'Ange et la mere
- Le Toit paternal
- Le Vol de l'ame
- Premiere communion
- Rayons du soleil
- Souvenirs du ciel
- Sur la montagne
- Un Soir

other artist: Jehan Georges Vibert Paintings  Steve Hanks Paintings  Dirck Bouts Paintings  Francois Boucher Paintings